Extra Special Requests

Today we were given our special requests through More Love Letters.  Each of the Letter Writers on the team are paired with 3-5 people that need letters. These letters are a bit more personal, and have the potential to rock us emotionally. As I was reading my requests, I felt my stomach knot and my heart sank. These are stories that you wish would never happen to anyone, because having similar if not identical situations happen to you should have been enough for the world. Those situations that make you wish that you could live through them alone, just so no one should have to experience them with you. I feel connected to every single one of these people, and I believe that’s the point of being a Letter Writer. You are matched with someone you can really connect to so you can pour your heart, your tears, and your memories onto the paper, hoping that maybe they won’t have to feel alone.

I have so much respect for the girls that have been doing this for a year now. They have had a year of emails and letters that were begging them to change their friend’s/family’s lives for the better. It’s a lot of responsibility, and it takes someone strong to be able to provide advice without being a counselor. To be able to connect with the receiver without reconnecting with the memory of pain and heartbreak. To be able to pour your heart out without pouring that burden onto your letter receiver. It’s a lot to handle. And the thing is… I’m so ready for this.

You don’t have to be alone. I’ll always be here. Even if I can’t help you, if I can’t be by your side, I’ll be here with my cursive and my letters. I’ll be here to think of you, and send positive thoughts into the universe for you to combat the bad ones. I’ll be here to to battle the negative karma that is spinning toward you by telling the world just how great you really are, and maybe that karma has the wrong mailing address. Because I have the right one, and I know that the person who receives these letters deserves to smile.

More Love Letters is wonderful, and I’m so grateful to be a part of it.

With love and love letters,

J

Tags: ,

Leave a comment

Caitlyn's NET preparation and travels

Just another WordPress.com weblog

hannah brencher.

honest essays about growing up, faith + loving others well.

The Cubs Aren't Rocket Science

Two hopeless Cubs fans share their thoughts on the North Siders and the world of baseball

Diversity & Inclusion @ SLU

Creating a safer and more inclusive University community one blog post at a time

leonoradee

the proudest monkey you've ever seen

Infinite Love Letters

Inspiring the Human Spirit

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.